Little Monsters in Bow Ties Baby Quilt

image

I wanted to do something for my co-worker who was expecting a bouncing baby boy. And I wanted to try the 3D bow tie pattern by the Gourmet Quilter.

So I watched her video and using scrapes I bought at Quilter’s Paradise I created these.

image

image

image

I wanted to create a rainbow quilt. So each block was created in a specific color and sashed with a tone on tone white with dots. I righted the blocks so that the Bowties looked as though they were being worn.

image

I then used my EZ dresden ruler to cut 3 1/2″ rainbow pieces that went around the quilt and in the center.

image

image

I also created 3D pinwheels and 3D wave blocks. But as I was assembling the top I figured I was over zealous and my math was off. For it would have turned out to be full sized instead of a baby quilt. So into a box those blocks have gone, to be used later on.

image

image

I then cut blocks from David Textiles “Where the Wild Things Are” prints and various Little Monsters prints to finish the top.  I bound it with a Riley Blake Candy stripe and backed it with the cutest monsters with Bowties print in Baby Blue.

image

She loved it but won’t let the Baby touch it as he is still in the pukey phase.

Leave a Reply

