Poppin Purple 3 Dudes Quilt

image

I just recently finished a lap quilt for a co-worker. She was creating a very beautiful bow-tie for me so I wanted do do something for her. I knew I wanted to use the 3 Dudes Quilt pattern

http://land.missouriquiltco.com/three-dudes-quilt-1/?utm_source=msyt&utm_medium=lp&utm_campaign=tms11

Now it was time for the fabric. At first I ordered MICHAEL MILLER’s Brambleberry Ridge ROSEMILK by Violet Craft

image

I thought it was beautiful. My co-worker was of a differing opinion. So it was back to the drawing board.

Next I thought about her spending time in Yosemite with family and friends. She relishes this every year. So I ordered Quilting Treasures “Whitetail Ridge” MOUNTAINS, BRANCHES, and FORREST. 

image

http://www.quiltingtreasures.com/shop/category/new-fabrics-b2c/remington-whitetail-ridge-1/?page=1

But after ordering and talking to her again I wasn’t feeling the project. She gave me an artisan yarn website she liked and the color purple. So I decided to take a trip to a Quilt Shop I love. Quilter’s Paradise is a dream…
http://www.quilters-paradise.com/

I walked around and looked at everything. Talked to the girls, and through trial and error I decided on mostly Cotton + Steel with a few others mixed in. So here is my finished project, before Binding. Sashing was added in last minute. I decided it needed sashing after laying out the squares.

image

Next I bound and Labeled it ready for gifting.

image

image

I hope this helps and inspires you.

Leave a Reply

